Established in 1986, the Terrace Hill Piano Competition is held annually at the Iowa Public Television studios in Johnston, Iowa. The Senior competition is always held on the second Saturday in February, and the Junior competition the preceding Friday evening. The dates for 2019 are February 8-9. All judging is done by out-of-state music professionals. Visit the official THEMA website for entry requirements and application forms.

Junior Competition

All entrants must be in grades 9-11 in an Iowa high school, or be Iowa residents with equivalent home-school status. The competition will take place Friday evening, February 8. Applications must be postmarked by January 5, 2019. Two winners will be named, with each receiving a cash prize of fifty dollars, courtesy of Des Moines Music Teachers Association and Music Teachers of Central Iowa.

Senior Competition

All entrants must be Iowa high school seniors planning to major or minor in piano. The competition will take place on Saturday, February 9. This year's Saturday afternoon finals will be telecast live on the IPTV state network. Applications must be postmarked by January 5, 2019. 


Each of the three Senior-level finalists will be awarded a scholarship over a two-year period to enroll as a piano major or minor at any Iowa college or university, with the winner receiving "The First Family of Iowa Scholarship." Scholarship amounts for 2019 are: winner, $5,000; second place, $3,000; third place, $2,000.

Appreciation and thanks is extended to West Music for its annual contribution of $3,000 toward these scholarships.
Additional scholarship support is provided by The Rotary Club of Northwest Des Moines and Mark and Cindy Snell. 

2018 THEMA winners:

Junior Division co-winners:
Yuvia Maldonado, Rockwell
Ana Yam, Ames

Senior Division:
FIRST PLACE: Emma Cai, Ames      
SECOND PLACE: Rachel Eckert, Davenport 
THIRD PLACE: Crystal Kimama, Urbandale  

Junior Division co-winners:
Yuvia Maldonado, Rockwell
Ashley Xu, Ames

Senior Division:
1st place: Roberto  Gemignani, Gilbert
2nd place: Shana Liu, Urbandale
3rd place: Carter Nath, Algona            

Junior Division co-winners:
Shana Liu
Chason Yan

Senior Division:
1st place:  Matt Bourland
2nd place:  Mario Jordan
3rd place:  Nicholas Leung

Junior Division co-winners:
Alex Dou, Cedar Falls
Linda Peng, Cedar Falls

Senior Division:
1st Place:  Jacob Miyazaki, West Des Moines
2nd Place:  Craig Jordan, Ames
3rd Place:  Christian Vallery, Hampton


Printed from the Terrace Hill website on November 16, 2018 at 4:18pm.